Financial Daily from THE HINDU group of publications
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004

Cross Currency

Group Sites

Corporate - Awards & Honours

Sunil Mittal chosen E&Y Entrepreneur of the Year

Our Bureau

New Delhi , Nov. 1

MR Sunil Bharti Mittal of Bharti Enterprises has been chosen `Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2004'.

Mr Mittal will now represent India at the Ernst & Young World Entrepreneur of the Year Award ceremony to be held in Monte Carlo, Monaco in May 2005. Winners were also selected for awards in several categories based on attributes such as entrepreneurial spirit, financial performance, strategic direction, global impact, innovation, personal integrity and influence.

Mr Rahul Bajaj bagged the `Lifetime Achievement Award' for providing strong leadership to Bajaj Auto to make it a world-class two-wheeler manufacturer.

The Start-up Entrepreneur of the Year award went to Mr Ashish Dhawan, founder and Senior Managing Director of ChrysCapital, an equity firm.

Mr Habil F. Khorakiwala of Wockhardt was named winner in the `Healthcare and Life Sciences' category.

In the `Information, Communication and Entertainment (ICE)' category, the award winner was Mr Kalanidhi Maran of Sun TV, while the winner in the `Services' category was Dr Ramdas M. Pai of the Manipal Education & Medical group.

The `Manager Entrepreneur of the Year' award was bagged by the ONGC Chairman and Managing Director, Mr Subir Raha, while the award in the `Manufacturing' category went to Mr Narottam Sekhsaria of Gujarat Ambuja Cement.

Commenting on the selection of the award winners, Mr Rajiv Memani, CEO and Country Managing Partner, Ernst & Young India, said: "Each one of the winners has built businesses with immense passion, explored uncharted territories, created jobs and added vibrancy to the economy. The Entrepreneur of the Year award is our way of recognising these exemplary and inspiring individuals.

Also present at the occasion were a large number of the country's top industrialists, professionals and senior bureaucrats.

They included Mr N.R. Narayana Murthy, Chairman and Chief Mentor of Infosys Technologies, who was Chairman of the awards' jury, and Mr Paul J. Ostling, COO of Ernst & Young Global.

More Stories on : Awards & Honours | Telecommunications

Article E-Mail :: Comment :: Syndication :: Printer Friendly Page

Stories in this Section
IOC's Vadodara refinery unit to remain shut for 1 month

ONGC plans feasibility study gas-based power plant in Tripura
DaimlerChrysler to reintroduce clean diesel
Feasibility report on GAIL's Myanmar gas import soon
STC pays Rs 5.46-cr interim dividend
TTP hands in dividend
ICAI moots different accounting system for Govt-run bodies
Star, Sahara reach compromise on logo
Sunil Mittal chosen E&Y Entrepreneur of the Year
Forces driving the New Economy
Shiva Cement develops tech to process iron ore
Modest rise in Phyto Chem's profits
CCL Products profit up
VSNL to buy Tyco Global for $130 m
SCI board okays investment in Sethusamudram project
German co ties up with Tecpro for bulk material handling systems
Canadian team scouting for jt ventures, tie-ups
`Ind-Swift Labs on threshold of entering US, Europe'
Coca-Cola staff plant trees on eve of AP Formation Day
SBI told to scout for new management to revive NEPA
Maruti sales up 27.6 pc in Oct
M&M reports increase in sales
Hero Honda's record sales
Bajaj Auto clocks 13.4 pc rise in sales
Higher sales from TVS Motor

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | Sportstar | Frontline | The Hindu eBooks | The Hindu Images | Home |

Copyright 2004, The Hindu Business Line. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu Business Line