Literary critic and educationist M Leelavati has been chosen for this year’s ‘Mathrubhumi Literary Award’.

The award, instituted by leading Malayalam daily “Mathrubhmi”, whcih carries Rs 2 lakh, a plaque and citation would be bestowed on Leelavati on December 20 by Jnanpith award winner Mahesweta Devi here, M P Veerendrakumar, Managing Director, Mathrubhumi, said here on Saturday.

A three-member judging panel headed by renowned poet Akkitham, and writers Vishnunarayanan Nampoothiri and K P Sankaran, unanimously chosen Leelavati for the award, he said.

She had been chosen considering her overall contribution to the Malayalam literary field, he said.

Akkitham, Vishnunarayanan Nampoothiri, Kovalan, Thikkodiyan, M V Devan, Pala Narayanan Nair, Sukumar Azhikode, O V Vijayan, M T Vasudevan Nair and M Mukundan were the previous winners of the award, Veerendrakumar said.

(This article was published on November 3, 2012)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.