The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) today said it will soon issue Rs 10 denomination banknotes incorporating the newly-devised rupee symbol.

The new notes would bear the inset letter ‘M’ in both the numbering panels of the Mahatma Gandhi series, 2005.

The note will also bear the signature of RBI Governor D Subbarao and the year of printing ‘2013’ printed on the obverse side, a RBI release said.

All banknotes of Rs 10 denomination, which have been issued in the past, will continue as legal tender, according to a release today.

(This article was published on April 8, 2013)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.