Parliament was disrupted for the 11th day today following uproar over coal block allocation as BJP stuck to its demand for the resignation of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

Both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha were adjourned till noon after the Opposition triggered ruckus on the issue. Members of the DMK, AIADMK, CPI and Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi were in the Well raising the Sri Lanka issue.

DMK members were opposing the training of Sri Lankan armed forces at an airbase in India, while AIADMK and VCK members protested the forthcoming visit of Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa to Madhya Pradesh.

In the Lok Sabha, Speaker Meira Kumar took up the Question Hour after congratulating Girisha Hosanagara Nagarajegowda for winning a silver medal in the Paralympic Games in the Men’s High Jump event in London.

After cheering Nagarajegowda, the Opposition members were back to criticising the Prime Minister over the coal blocks allocation. As the din continued, the Speaker adjourned the Lok Sabha till noon.

In the Rajya Sabha, Chairman Hamid Ansari made a brief reference to the birth anniversary of the first Chairman of the Upper House and former President S. Radhakrishnan.

It was chaos soon after with BJP members shouting slogans demanding the resignation of the Prime Minister.

Ansari took up the first listed question but as the BJP members were unrelenting and moved to the aisle shouting slogans, he adjourned the House till noon.

(This article was published on September 5, 2012)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.