A. K. Padmanabhan and Tapan Sen were today re-elected President and General Secretary of the CITU on the concluding day of the four-day conference here. Ranjana Nirula was elected Treasurer.

The meeting also elected 15 Vice-Presidents and 16 Secretaries.

During the 14th all-India conference various resolutions were passed, chief among which was concern over what it termed are increasing incidences of attacks on the trade union movement and said it was part of the aggressively driven “neo-liberal Government policies, aided by MNCs and the corporate media.”

It said increasing attacks on the movement were aimed at suppressing the working class.

“The attacks are manifestation of and part of aggressively driven neo-liberal policies of the present dispensation abetted by MNCs and corporate media,” it said.

In another resolution, it condemned the Government’s move to privatise Integrated Child Development Services through the ICDS Mission and reiterated the demand to institutionalise it.

(This article was published on April 8, 2013)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.