Narendra Modi, who posted a resounding victory in the Assembly elections, will be sworn in as Gujarat Chief Minister for the fourth time on December 26.

Modi became Chief Minister for the first time on October 1, 2001 and subsequently in 2002 and 2007.

Modi drove to Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar this morning and submitted his resignation and that of his Council of Ministers to Governor Kamla Beniwal following the constitution of the new House.

“As per the constitutional obligation, after the announcement of the results of the State Assembly elections, the Council of Ministers and Chief Minister as its head have tendered their resignations to the State Governer,” Gujarat BJP spokesman Vijay Rupani said.

The outgoing Assembly was dissolved yesterday by the Governor after the results of new Assembly were declared.

BJP has won 115 seats in the 182-member House, 23 more than what is required for a simple majority.

“On December 25, a meeting of the newly elected MLAs will be held to formally elect Narendra Modi as the leader of BJP legislature party,” said Rupani.

Senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley is likely to present as an observer, he said, adding that Modi would be administered the oath of office and secrecy on December 26.

The swearing-in ceremony is likely to take place at Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad.

(This article was published on December 21, 2012)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.