Over 74 lakh new voters sign up

Comment   ·   print   ·  

EC enrolment camps a hit

More than 74 lakh new voters have been added to the over 81 crore people eligible to vote in the elections to the Lok Sabha this year.

This follows the initiative of the Election Commission (EC), asking people to check for their names on the voters’ list on March 9 at their respective polling booths.

In case their names are missing, they could register immediately.

With over 15 lakh new voters being added to the electorate, UP saw the maximum increase, followed by AP at 11 lakh new voters. Tamil Nadu saw over 9.95 lakh new voters being added, while the tally in Bihar increased by 7 lakh and Gujarat by 3.39 lakh, EC officials said.

Karnataka saw its electorate increase by 3 lakh and Kerala by 1.6 lakh, while Puducherry saw 6,782 new voters’ names being added.

EC officials say the numbers may rise further as some States including West Bengal and Andhra Pradesh will hold camps again. The electoral process around the country is supervised by 4,000 officers of the Indian Administrative and Police services while about 1 million poll officials conduct the actual election process at around 10 lakh polling booths around the country.

Addressing the annual session of the Confederation of Indian Industry, Election Commissioner, HS Brahma said the Commission maintains poll booths at places which could be as high as 16,000 feet above the sea level in Leh.

The temperature ranges across the country from 10 degree to 47 degree Celcius during the polling period.

(This article was published on March 30, 2014)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.
Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor



Recent Article in Politics

Even BJP leaders are silent on Modi’s achievements, says Congress

‘A grave crisis is plaguing the farm sector’ »

Comments to: Copyright © 2015, The Hindu Business Line.