In view of communal tension prevailing in parts of old city, prohibitory orders have been clamped for three days starting today under seven police station limits.

City Police Commissioner Anurag Sharma, in a notification issued here yesterday, said the prohibitory orders under Section 144 of CrPC would come into force from November 6 and will end on November 8.

“Communal tension is still continuing between two groups in some parts of old city, which may cause disturbance to public peace and order,” the police commissioner said.

“In order to maintain public order, peace and tranquillity, prohibitory orders have been imposed banning assembly of five or more persons in the limits of five police stations in South Zone and two police stations in West Zone,” Sharma said.

The police stations where prohibitory orders have been imposed are Charminar, Hussaini Alam, Mirchowk, Shalibanda and Moghalpura in South Zone and Kulsumpura and Tappachabutra police stations limits of West Zone.

Incidents of communal violence had been reported in some areas of the old city, including Sabzimandi and Ziaguda, under Kulsumpura police station limits last week.

(This article was published on November 6, 2012)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.