Our Bureau

Ahmedabad, Aug 7

The economist and former Union Minister Mr Y.K. Alagh was declared as the successor to Dr Verghese Kurien as Chairman of the Institute of Rural Development Anand (IRMA) by its board of governors at a meeting today.

National Dairy Development Board (NDDB) sources said that the board appointed Dr Alagh unanimously for a period of three years.

The board also accepted the resignations of two senior faculty members, Prof Haribandhu Panda and Prof Vishwa Vallabh, who were also board members.

The two Kurien loyalists, along with former IRMA Acting Executive Director, Mr L.K. Vasvani, and faculty Ms Smita Panda and Mr S.N. Biswas, had recently resigned from their posts.

The board is yet to appoint the Institute's Executive Director in place of Ms Neelima Khaitan, the Acting Executive Director, the sources said. The board meeting was presided over by NDDB Chairperson, Dr Amrita Patel, who took over as Interim Chairperson of IRMA in June.

(This article was published in the Business Line print edition dated August 8, 2006)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.