Our Bureau

Mumbai, Feb. 9

ZEE Gaurav, in its seventh year, has awarded outstanding performances from 18 categories in films, 10 categories in commercial plays and five in experimental plays.

This year, Zee Gaurav felicitated well-known Marathi film actor Nilu Phule and veteran music director Shreenivas Khale for the lifetime achievement award - Zee Jeevan Gaurav Puraskar.

The jury for this year's awards included director Kanchan Nayak, cinematographer Suryakant Lavande, lyrist Mangesh Kulkarni, editor Vidyadhar Pathare and film critic Sudhir Nandgaonkar for films; Suresh Khare, Prakash Buddhisagar, Rajan Tamhane for commercial plays; and Pratima Kulkarni, Premanand Gajvi, Anil Bandiwadekar for experimental plays.

The board of governors for Zee Gaurav 2006 included Dr Jabbar Patel, Mr N. Chandra, Kamalakar Sontakke and Jayant Salgaonkar.

The winners in the film segment include: best actress for Aishwarya Narkar in


; best actor for Sandeep Kulkarni in

Dombivali Fast

; best direction Nishikant Kamat for

Dombivali Fast

; best film for

Amhi Asu Ladke

: Hemant Chitra. The special jury award was given to

Chhadi Lage Chham Chham

- Kuso Films. Achanak : Kalavaibhav got the best play award.

(This article was published in the Business Line print edition dated February 10, 2006)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.