Our Bureau

New Delhi, Oct. 5

The TERI School of Advanced Studies will be called the TERI University from Thursday. Set-up as the TERI School of Advanced Studies in 1998, the institution was recognised as a deemed university by the University Grants Commission (UGC) in 1999 and subsequently renamed the TERI University.

At present, the University offers Ph.D, M.Sc (Environmental Studies), M.Sc (Natural Resources Management), M.A (Public Policy and Sustainable Development) and MBA (Infrastructure) programmes. Following the UGC's note permitting the use of the word `University' by deemed universities, the Board of Management of the school decided to change the name to TERI University (established under Section 3 of the UGC Act 1956).

The University will hold its first convocation on October 16, 2006, when seven students will receive their doctoral degrees and 36 will be conferred with Master's degrees.

(This article was published in the Business Line print edition dated October 6, 2006)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.