Our Bureau

Bangalore, Sept. 27

PROF U.R. Rao, former ISRO Chairman, has been awarded the prestigious Theodore Von Karman Award of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), Paris, for the year 2005. Prof Rao is the first from a developing country to receive the honour, an ISRO release said.

The award will be presented to him on October 16 at Fukuoka, Japan, during the 56th International Astronautical Congress organised jointly by the International Academy of Astronautics, the International Astronautical Federation and the International Institute of Space Law.

The Von Karman Award is the premier award of the IAA and is given annually to recognise outstanding lifetime achievements in any branch of science. The award was instituted in 1987 in memory of Dr Theodore Von Karman, legendary aerospace scientist and founder and the first President of IAA.

Among its past recipients are Dr Charles S. Draper of USA, Prof Reimar Lust of Germany, Dr William H. Pickering of USA, Sir Arthur C. Clark of the UK, Dr Hubert Curien of France, Prof Minoru Oda of Japan and Dr Jacques E. Blamont of France.

(This article was published in the Business Line print edition dated September 28, 2005)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.