Our Bureau

Hyderabad, Aug. 30 After a gap of four years, the Andhra Pradesh Government has announced the names of recipients of the prestigious NTR National Film Award.

The award for 2003 goes to Ghattamaneni Krishna, veteran Telugu actor, for his outstanding contribution to the film industry. Ilayaraja, one of the greatest musicians the Indian film industry ever produced, has been selected for the award for the year 2004.

Ambarish, a senior Karnataka actor, has been adjudged for the award for 2005.

The awardwas last given to Dr Raj Kumar in 2002. It has since been put on hold, triggering protests from several quarters.

The Government appointed a three-member committee comprising Mr T.L. Kantha Rao (a contemporary of N T Rama Rao), Mr M. Balaiah and Mr Mohan Babu early this year. The awards, which carry a memento and Rs 5 lakh in cash each, would be presented during the Nandi Film Awards Presentation function scheduled for November next, a Government release said.

(This article was published in the Business Line print edition dated August 31, 2007)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.