Companies

Tata Motors launches contest for renaming Zica

Alka Kshirsagar Pune | Updated on January 19, 2018 Published on February 05, 2016

Previously named Zica, an acronym derived from Zippy Car, the hatchback was first publicly showcased at the Auto Expo 2016 in New Delhi.

Pressured into a last-minute change in the moniker of its just-to-be-launched hatchback that sounded too much like a dreaded virus, Tata Motors has announced a crowd-sourcing activity to find a new name for the car.

Previously named Zica, an acronym derived from Zippy Car, the hatchback was first publicly showcased at the Auto Expo 2016 in New Delhi.

While it carries the ‘Zica’ label for the duration of the event, the new name will be announced after a few weeks, ensuring all necessary consumer/branding and regulatory aspects are addressed, and the launch will take place thereafter, Tata Motors said in a statement.

Through the contest #Fantastico Name Hunt, the company will be looking forward to suggestions from its fans and audiences around the world to share what they think should be the name of the car.

Over the next three days, the company will receive all entries through its social media channels. The hunt for the new name will end at 23:59 IST, 18:29 GMT and 13:29 EST on February 7 2016. The company will further shortlist these entries for viewers to vote for their favourite name.

One lucky contestant, whose selection matches the final name, stands a chance to win the car (if within India) or win a reward of equal value, if located outside India.

The contest is being conducted on social media and mobile platforms with entries being accepted via SMS and whatsapp, making it easier for customers to share their nominations.





Published on February 05, 2016
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor