Presidency mentor panel chief names members

| | Updated on: Jun 29, 2011

Eight eminent personalities have been named members of the Presidency Mentor Committee by the committee chairman, Prof Sugata Bose after a meeting with the West Bengal Chief Minister, Ms Mamata Banerjee, here on Wednesday.

The committee, set up by Ms Banerjee to revive the glory of Presidency University, will have a total of ten members. The names announced today include Dr I.J. Ahluwalia of the Indian Council of Research on International Economic Relations, Prof Abhijit Banerjee from MIT, Mr Swapan Chakraborty, Director of National Library, Dr Sukanta Chowdhury, emeritus professor of English at Jadavpur University, Dr Himadri Pakrashi from Washington University and Dr Ashok Sen from Allahabad University.

Nobel laureate Professor Amartya Sen will be advisor to Prof Bose. “I have been able to take the consent of these members, while the remaining two names will soon be made public after their consent is available,” Mr Bose said.

The group wouldill be entrusted with the task of submitting short, medium and long-term recommendations and monitoring the implementation of those recommendations over the next two years.

The mentor group will also have to craft appropriate governance structure for the university, propose amendments to the Presidency University Act, revise and frame statutes of the university and refine and streamline admission process, among others.

The committee will meet the Chief Minister on July 8 to discuss its future course of action, Prof Bose said.

Published on November 13, 2017

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like

Recommended for you