TN, Puducherry, Kerala polls on April 13

Our Bureau New Delhi | Updated on March 01, 2011

Mr S. Y. Quraishi

Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Kerala will go to polls on April 13 to elect new assemblies, the Election Commission announced on Tuesday. In a statement, the Commission also announced that in addition Assam will see voting in two phases on April 4 and April 11, while there will be a six-phase election in West Bengal starting on April 18 and ending on May 10. In all the three southern States, the last date for filing of nominations is March 26, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 30.

There will be 54,016 polling stations for the 4.5-crore strong electorate in Tamil Nadu to exercise their franchise, while there will be 20,758 polling stations for the 2.3 crore strong electorate in Kerala. In Puducherry, 851 polling stations are being set up for the 8,00,000-strong electorate. Election results for the three southern States and West Bengal will be announced on May 13, the Commission said.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on March 01, 2011
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor