Elections 2021

Low voter turnout in Bengaluru

Anil Urs Bengaluru | Updated on April 18, 2019


Higher turnout in southern districts

As voting ended for 14 out of 28 parliamentary constituencies in Karnataka, low voter turnout in the three parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru city has caused concern among the political parties. However, other districts, including coastal regions where the BJP has a strong base, reported higher voter turnout.

Low voter turnout in Bengaluru constituencies is a cause for concern to the BJP. The party has vehemently raised the issue of missing names in voters’ list in the city constituencies.

Senior BJP leader Arvind Limbavali said, “The party is confident of victory, but we are concerned that many names are missing in the voters’ list.”

Karnataka Pradesh Congress president Dinesh Gundu Rao tweeted, “Did cast my vote with my family but a bit late in the day. Sadly, Bengaluru continues to vote in low percentages, though we make the maximum noise.”

While high turnout in rest of the south Karnataka has raised eyebrows as the BJP is trying to penetrate the base of the Janata Dal Secular-Congress combine. Compared with previous elections, many constituencies have witnessed 3-5 per cent drop in voting. It is here the political parties are alarmed as a few candidates had scraped through with a slender margin.

A high turnout is interpreted as an indication of the voters’ mood in favour of change.

Voter turnout percentage

Udupi-Chikkmagaluru 69.83 per cent (74.56 per cent in 2014), Hassan 71.20 per cent (73.49 per cent), Dakshina Kannada 72.97 per cent (77.15 per cent), Chitradurga 61.75 per cent (66.07 per cent), Tumkur 70.28 per cent (72.57 per cent), Mandya 70.23 per cent (71.47 per cent), Mysore-Kodagu 61.32 per cent (67.30 per cent), Chamarajanagar 66.51 per cent (72.85 per cent), Bangalore rural 59.43 per cent (66.45 per cent), Bangalore north 48.19 per cent (56.53 per cent), Bangalore Central 45.34 per cent (55.64 per cent), Bangalore south 49.36 per cent (55.75 per cent), Chikkaballapur 69.33 per cent (76.21 per cent) and Kolar 69.99per cent (75.51 per cent).

As ballot boxes are sealed, today’s election will decide the fortunes of former prime minister HD Deve Gowda, who is contesting from Tumkuru. Also in the fray are his grandsons Niklhil K from Mandya, and Prajwal Revanna from Hassan.

Others in the fray are Union Minister Sadananda Gowda from Bangalore north, former Union ministers M Veerappa Moily from Chikaballapura. KH Muniyappa from Kolar. In the absence of late HN Ananthakumar from Bengaluru south, all yes on BJP youngest candidate Tejasvi Surya.


For the latest on elections, click: Elections 2019

Published on April 18, 2019

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like