Gujarat Governor OP Kohli dissolved the 13th State Legislative Assembly on Thursday, paving the way for the formation of a new government and cabinet after the BJP won with a simple majority in the 182-seat House.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and his deputy Nitin Patel formally tendered their resignations today along with the Council of Ministers. Rupani and Patel will continue to be in charge till the new government is formed.

On Friday, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and BJP General Secretary Saroj Pandey will meet the elected MLAs and select the leader of the legislative party. The oath-taking ceremony is likely to be held on December 25.

Among the favourites for the CM’s post is incumbent Rupani. A section of BJP workers have started floating the name of Bhupendra Patel, who won from Ghatlodia constituency with the biggest margin of 1,17,550 votes. He is considered close to former CM Anandiben Patel.