IIT-M, 11 institutions to set up chairs in IP

TE Raja Simhan | | Updated on: Nov 07, 2018

Centre seeks timeframe for posting professors

A dozen institutions, including the Indian Institute of Technology Madras, have been accorded approval by the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP) under the Commerce Ministry to set up Chairs on Intellectual Property (IP) to encourage study, education and research in intellectual property rights (IPR).

India is a signatory to the agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights, the most comprehensive agreements on IP that took effect on January 1, 1995.

The Centre framed the National IPR Policy of 2016 to establish a holistic atmosphere, conducive to exploiting the full potential of IP for social, economic and cultural development.

One of the policy’s main objectives was to strengthen IP chairs in educational institutions of higher learning to provide quality teaching and research, develop teaching capacity and curriculum and evaluate their work on performance-based criteria.

Promoting outreach

The Scheme for Pedagogy & Research in IPRs for Holistic Education & Academia (SPRIHA) was thus set up to promote outreach on IP matters, organise seminar and workshops, develop inputs, research and inculcate a long-standing recognition and respect for one’s IP and others’ IP in the students’ minds. The DIPP, in an order issued on October 16, has asked the selected institutes to set up IP Chairs to provide detailed financial proposals according to SPRIHA with a timeframe for nomination of the IPR Chair Professor.

List of institutions to set up IP Chairs are: IIT Madras, Tamil Nadu; National Law University & Judicial Academy, Guwahati, Assam; Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar, Gujarat; National Law School of India University, Bengaluru, Karnataka; Cochin University of Science & Technology, Kochi, Kerala; Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai, Maharashtra; Punjab University, Chandigarh, Punjab; National Law University, Jodhpur, Rajasthan; Nalsar University of Law, Hyderabad, Telengana; IIT Roorkee, Uttarakhand; West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata, West Bengal; * National Law University, Delhi.

Published on November 07, 2018
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like

Recommended for you