11 AIADMK MLAs disqualification case: SC disposes DMK’s petition

PTI New Delhi | Updated on February 14, 2020

Speaker initiated action on DMK plea on disqualification of 11 AIADMK MLAs: TN govt tells SC

The Tamil Nadu government informed the Supreme Court on Friday that the Assembly Speaker has initiated action on a DMK petition alleging the Speaker did not act on a plea seeking disqualification of 11 AIADMK lawmakers voted against Chief Minister E Palaniswami during a 2017 confidence vote. The 11 lawmakers included Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam.

A bench comprising Chief Justice SA Bobde, Justice BR Gavai and Justice Surya Kant took note of the submission, and disposed of the petition filed by the DMK.

The plea had sought disqualification of Panneerselvam and 10 others for having voted against the Palaniswami government when they were in the rebel camp.

It had contended that by voting against the trust motion, these MLAs violated the whip issued by the ruling party, and hence attracted disqualification under the anti-defection law. Senior advocate Kapil Sibal and advocate Amit Anand Tiwari appeared for the DMK in the case.

Published on February 14, 2020

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor