AP CM okays elections to water users’ associations

Our Bureau Hyderabad | Updated on February 03, 2013

Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy on Sunday approved the file relating to conduct of elections to about 56,000 territorial constituencies (TCs)

The TCs belonged to about 11,000 water users associations (WUAs).

The approval was also given to hold elections for 342 distributory committees (DCs), 61 medium project committees and 25 major project committees (PCs) in the State according to procedure, says a release. It may be recalled that the State Government while implementing water sector reforms under economic restructuring, promoted participation of farmers in water management.

It promulgated the Andhra Pradesh Farmers Management of Irrigation Systems Act 1997 with an aim of ensuring participatory irrigation management to create sense of ownership and promote efficient of water resources.

The Act covers about one crore acres irrigated land and 60 lakh farmers. Currently, farmers organisations consist of 80,820 TCs, 10,749 WUAs, 342 DCs and 86 PCs in the State and the elections were conducted during 2008.

Rajya Sabha pattern

The Act follows the Rajya Sabha pattern.

One third of the elected retired during January 2010 and another 1/3rd retired during January 2012.

Now, these elections are to be conducted for these 2/3 vacancies.


Published on February 03, 2013

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like