Abhijit Mukherjee wins Jangipur LS seat

PTI Berhampore(WB) | Updated on March 12, 2018 Published on October 13, 2012

Abjijit Mukherjee, son of President Pranab Mukherjee and Congress candidate today won the Jangipur Lok Sabha by-election by 2,536 votes defeating his nearest CPI-M rival Muzaffar Hussain.

Abhijit polled 3,32,919 votes, while the CPI-M candidate bagged 3,30,383 votes, Election Commission sources said.

BJP candidate, Sudhangshu Biswas, who came third, received 85,867 votes.Two independent candidates Raisuddin and Tahedul Islam polled 41,620 and 24,691 votes respectively.

Trinamool Congress did not put up any candidate in the by-poll even after severing ties with Congress.

Pranab Mukherjee had won the seat by a huge margin of over 1.28 lakh votes in the 2009 Lok Sabha election.

The by-election was held on October 10 as the seat had fallen vacant after Pranab Mukherjee was elevated to the highest office of the country.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on October 13, 2012
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor