Proceedings at both Houses of Parliament were adjourned for the day on Monday, immediately after resumption at 2 pm. Earlier in the day, both Houses—soon after they assembled at 11 am—were adjourned till 2 pm. 

This is the third day in a row when Parliament proceedings have been stalled without conducting any meaningful business, following the demands by the opposition parties of a JPC probe into the Adani Group-Hindenburg Research report saga.

As soon as the Lok Sabha assembled, opposition raised slogans against the government and continued to press their demand for a joint parliamentary committee (JPC) probe into the Adani Group which has been facing the market wrath since the release of Hindenburg’s report on January 24.

The US short seller Hindenburg Research made fraud allegations against the conglomerate. The report has wiped out $118 billion or more than half of Adani group stocks market value.

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla reprimanded the members and noted that “naarebazi” was not in the interest of the country and the people have elected to them to raise their issues. 

In the Rajya Sabha, Chairman Jagdeep Dhankar noted that it was not appropriate on part of opposition members to choose a forum (Rajya Sabha) that is meant for deliberation for extraneous purposes.

“I appeal to you...It’s time for us to think what the common man is thinking”, he said before adjourning the House till 2 pm.

Related Stories
Editorial. Ball is now in the regulators’ court on Adani issue
Proper regulatory precedents must be set as Hindenburg may target other groups

Earlier in the day, opposition MPs protested at the Gandhi statue in the Parliament complex and demanded a probe by JPC into the allegations of fraud and stock manipulation against the Adani Group.

On Monday morning, ahead of commencement of proceedings in the Parliament, leaders of 16 opposition parties met at Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge’s chambers to chalk out their strategy. Those present at the meeting include members of the Congress, DMK, NCP, JDU, SP, CPM, CPI, JMM, AAP, IUML, BRS, RJD and Shiv Sena (UBT).