Bengal by-polls: BJP getting paid back for its arrogance, says Mamata

PTI Kolkata | Updated on November 28, 2019 Published on November 28, 2019

Tapan Deb Sinha of TMC wins Kaliaganj seat; party leading in Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur seats also

Dedicating the party’s victory in the Kaliaganj assembly seat by-poll to the people of West Bengal, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Thursday said the BJP is getting paid back for its “arrogance” and for “insulting” the people of the state.

Tapan Deb Sinha of the TMC won the Kaliaganj seat by defeating his nearest rival Kamal Chandra Sarkar of the BJP by 2,304 votes, EC officials said.

The TMC is also leading in two other assembly segments, Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur, by 15,000 and 28,000 votes respectively.

“We dedicate this victory to the people of Bengal. The BJP is getting paid back for its arrogance of power and for insulting the people of Bengal,” she told a TV channel.

The CPI(M) and the Congress, instead of trying to strengthen themselves, are helping the BJP in West Bengal, Banerjee said.





Published on November 28, 2019
  1. Comments will be moderated by The Hindu Business Line editorial team.
  2. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant cannot be published.
  3. Please write complete sentences. Do not type comments in all capital letters, or in all lower case letters, or using abbreviated text. (example: u cannot substitute for you, d is not 'the', n is not 'and').
  4. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
  5. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.