Legislative council elections on July 6 for 9 seats in Bihar, 1 in AP

?OUR BUREAU New Delhi | Updated on June 15, 2020 Published on June 15, 2020

Counting on the same day, says EC

Polls for electing one member of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council and nine members of the Bihar Legislative Council will be held on July 6 with counting taking place on the same day, the Election Commission announced on Monday.

The Commission said that the notification for the elections in both the States will be issued on June 18 with June 29 being the last date for the withdrawal of candidature. Elections for both the Legislative Councils will be held on July 6 between 9 a.m and 4 p.m with counting of votes scheduled to begin at 5 p.m on the same day.

The necessity of holding the lone election for the AP Legislative Council arose as a member had resigned. For the Bihar Legislative Council, the terms of the members expired on May 6.

On May 3 the Commission directed that the process for the elections for the Bihar Legislative Council be initiated at a later date after reviewing the prevailing Covid-19 situation.

“The Commission, after receiving inputs from the Chief Election Officer, Bihar, has now decided that the biennial election to the Bihar Legislative Council by members of the Legislative Assembly be held,” the Commission said.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on June 15, 2020
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor