Punjab bypolls: Shiromani Akali Dal defeats Congress in Dakha constituency

PTI Chandigarh | Updated on October 24, 2019

File photo   -  IMITIYAZ KHAN

In a blow to the Congress, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) candidate Manpreet Singh Ayali defeated ruling party nominee Sandeep Singh Sandhu from Punjab's Dakha seat by a margin of 14,672 votes.

The Dakha seat fell vacant following the resignation of former AAP leader and noted Supreme Court lawyer H S Phoolka from the state assembly.

Meanwhile, the Congress emerged victorious in the Phagwara and Jalalabad constituencies.

Congress candidate Raminder Awla defeated SAD nominee Raj Singh Dibipura by 16,633 votes from Jalalabad, considered an Akali bastion.

Earlier, the seat was represented by SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal, who was elected to the Lok Sabha in May this year.

In Phagwara, which fell vacant after its sitting BJP MLA Som Parkash was elected to the Lok Sabha, Congress candidate and former IAS officer Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal defeated BJP nominee Rajesh Bagha with a margin of 26,116 votes.

Published on October 24, 2019

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like