Sitarganj result gives boost to Congress

| Updated on: Jul 11, 2012

The ruling Congress in Uttarakhand today got a boost after Chief Minister, Mr Vijay Bahuguna won from Sitarganj with a record margin that increased its total tally to 33 in the 70-member House. However, with the defeat of BJP’s candidate Prakash Pant, the strength of the saffron party has been reduced to 30 in the House where three independents, three of BSP and one lone member of the Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD) are supporting the ruling Congress.

“The victory of Congress in Sitarganj will strengthen the position of Bahuguna immensely in the hill state as the main opposition BJP has been given a severe drubbing by voters,” said Mr Suryakant Dhasmana, state Congress vice-president.

The election results on March 6 had given a fractured mandate in Uttarakhand with Congress winning 32 seats followed closely by BJP with 31 seats. But after the results, all the 7 non-BJP MLAs supported the Congress in government formation with the high command bringing in Bahuguna to head the state.

Published on March 12, 2018

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like

Recommended for you