Poetry dominates 2013 Sahitya Akademi awards

New Delhi | Updated on December 18, 2013 Published on December 18, 2013

Poetry writers dominated the Sahitya Akademi awards for 2013 announced here on Tuesday.

Among the award winning poets are Subodh Sarkar (Bengali), Anil Boro (Bodo), Sitaram Sapolia (Dogri), Ambika Dutt (Rajasthani), Radhakant Thakur (Sanskrit), Arjun Charan  Hembram (Santali), Namdev Tarachandani (Sindhi) and Javed Akhtar (Urdu), according to a Sahitya Akademi release.

Overall, eight books of poetry, four of  essays, three of novels, two each of short stories and travelogues, one  each of autobiography, memoirs and play have won the Sahitya Akademi award this year.

The novelists who won awards are Mridula Garg for Miljul Man in Hindi, Manmohan for Nirvaan in Punjabi and R.N. Joe D’ Cruz for Korkai in Tamil. The only playwright who has won the award is Bijoy Misra for Banaprastha in Odia.

The award for autobiography has been won by Malayalam writer M N Paloor for Kathayillathavante Katha. Sureshwar Jha has bagged an award for his memoirs Sangharsh Aa Sehanta in Maithili.

In the category of short stories, the award has gone to Mohi-ud-din Reshi for Aina Aatash in Kashmiri and Temsula Ao for Laburnum For My Head in English.

C.N. Ramachandran (Kannada), Tukaram Rama Shet (Konkani),

Satish Kalasekar (Marathi), and Katyayani Vidmahe (Telugu) got the

award for essays, while Makhonmani Mongsaba (Manipuri) and Man Bahadur Pradhan (Nepali) got it for travelogues.

The awards were recommended by a distinguished jury representing 22 Indian languages, headed by Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari, President , Sahitya Akademi.

The Assamese and Gujarati language awards will be declared later, the release added.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on December 18, 2013
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor