Polls to six Rajya Sabha seats from TN on July 18

Our Bureau New Delhi | Updated on June 25, 2019 Published on June 25, 2019

Elections to six Rajya Sabha seats from Tamil Nadu will be conducted on July 18, the Election Commission has announced. The counting will also be held on the same day.

The elections have been necessitated as the term of five members, including T Rathinavel, V Maitreyan, R Lakshmanan and D Raja comes to an end on July 24. The fifth member Kanimozhi has been elected to the Lok Sabha .

The Commission will issue a notification on elections on July 1. July 11 has been fixed as the last date for withdrawal of a candidate. The Commission has directed that for the purpose of marking preference(s) on the ballot paper, only integrated violet colour sketch pen(s) of pre-fixed specification, provided by the Returning Officer, should be used.

Tamil Nadu has 18 MPs in the Rajya Sabha.

Published on June 25, 2019
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor