Rajya Sabha polls: M Thambidurai, KP Munusamy are AIADMK’s candidates

PTI Chennai | Updated on March 09, 2020 Published on March 09, 2020

M Thambidurai, former Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker (File photo)

GK Vaasan also gets a nomination

The AIADMK named former Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai and senior leader KP Munusamy as its candidates for the biennial election to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu on Monday.

The ruling party allotted one seat to ally Tamil Maanila Congress, and its chief GK Vaasan will be the candidate.

In a press release, AIADMK coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and Chief Minister and co-coordinator K Palaniswami named Thambidurai and Munusamy and allotted one seat to the TMC.

The release said Vaasan, chief of TMC, will be the candidate for the Rajya Sabha elections.

On April 2, six Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu will retire.

The DMK days ago named three nominees including its sitting MP in the upper house, ‘Tiruchy’ Siva.

Based on the strength of the ruling party and main opposition DMK and their respective allies in the Assembly, all the six candidates are likely to be elected unopposed. Elections will be held on March 26 in the unlikely event of a contest.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on March 09, 2020
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor