CETC (India), an ancillary of China Electronics Technology Group Corporation (CETC), performed the ground-breaking ceremony of its solar photovoltaic cell (PVC) manufacturing park (phase 1) on Thursday at Sri City in Andhra Pradesh.

Liu Liehong, General Manager and CEO, CETC, broke the ground and laid the foundation stone for the facility, expected to be commissioned in 18-20 months.

Seeking the support of the State government in getting approvals on time, he said: “We look forward to work hand-in-hand with Sri City and the AP government. The plant, which will be built on a plot of 18 acres in the Domestic Tariff Zone (DTZ) at an initial investment of around ₹320 crore, will be commissioned by the last quarter of 2019. The first phase will have a capacity be of 200 MW.”

The project is expected to boost India’s local solar power production capacity and play a role in achieving the target of 100 GW solar PV capacity by 2022.

The project will generate employment for 300 people in the first phase and about 1,500 in total in a phased manner.

‘Rewarding partnership’

J Krishna Kishore, Chief Executive Officer, Andhra Pradesh Economic Development Board (APEDB), said the State is building an integrated system of electronics manufacturing in the country, and CETC’s investment will be a mutually rewarding partnership between China and India.

“Solar industry continues to see strong growth in India, especially with the recently concluded the International Solar Alliance (ISA) meeting. CETC is establishing this facility in Andhra Pradesh to be close to its customers in this growing, leading-edge market,” he added.

Ravindra Sannareddy, founder and Managing Director, Sri City, said: “This will be the 6th Chinese company in Sri City, and we are very happy to have yet another major unit in the renewable energy sector. CETC’s entry to Sri City assumes greater significance as it will help boost solar power production capacity in the country.”

Headquartered in Beijing, CETC is a backbone of State-owned enterprises in China. It was established in March 2002 and is made up of 66 secondary member units, eight listed companies,42 subsidiaries and over 40 offices overseas. It employs 150,000 people , has 18 national key laboratories, and 10 national research and innovation centres.