E-visa facility for foreign tourists launched

Navadha Pandey  New Delhi | Updated on November 27, 2014 Published on November 27, 2014

Home Minister Rajnath Singh (right) with Minister of State for Tourism & Culture, Mahesh Sharma, at the launch of the tourist visa on arrival enabled by Electronic Travel Authorisation in the Capital on Thursday. -- Ramesh Sharma

Home Minister Rajnath Singh on Thursday launched the electronic visa facility for foreign tourists, which would make travel seamless and hassle-free in India.

The tourist visa on arrival by electronic travel authorisation (ETA) would be introduced in a phased manner at nine airports across the country: Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Kochi, Thiruvananthapuram and Goa. As many as 76 counters have been created for this at these airports.

The countries for which the facility will be extended will also be identified in a phased manner, a senior tourism ministry official said.

A foreign tourist will have to apply online at the Web site, upload a photo and passport and pay a fee online. In 72 hours, the applicant would receive an ETA by e-mail.

The 30-day permit would include sightseeing, visiting friends and family, recreation, short duration medical treatment, and a casual business visit.

According to news reports, visitors from over 40 countries, including Israel, Palestine, Germany and the US, will be able to avail of the e-visa facility.

Countries currently enjoying the visa-on-arrival (VoA) facility include South Korea, Japan, Finland, Singapore, New Zealand, Indonesia, Myanmar, Vietnam and Laos. They are also set to come under the e-visa facility.

Published on November 27, 2014

A letter from the Editor

Dear Readers,

The coronavirus crisis has changed the world completely in the last few months. All of us have been locked into our homes, economic activity has come to a near standstill. Everyone has been impacted.

Including your favourite business and financial newspaper. Our printing and distribution chains have been severely disrupted across the country, leaving readers without access to newspapers. Newspaper delivery agents have also been unable to service their customers because of multiple restrictions.

In these difficult times, we, at BusinessLine have been working continuously every day so that you are informed about all the developments – whether on the pandemic, on policy responses, or the impact on the world of business and finance. Our team has been working round the clock to keep track of developments so that you – the reader – gets accurate information and actionable insights so that you can protect your jobs, businesses, finances and investments.

We are trying our best to ensure the newspaper reaches your hands every day. We have also ensured that even if your paper is not delivered, you can access BusinessLine in the e-paper format – just as it appears in print. Our website and apps too, are updated every minute, so that you can access the information you want anywhere, anytime.

But all this comes at a heavy cost. As you are aware, the lockdowns have wiped out almost all our entire revenue stream. Sustaining our quality journalism has become extremely challenging. That we have managed so far is thanks to your support. I thank all our subscribers – print and digital – for your support.

I appeal to all or readers to help us navigate these challenging times and help sustain one of the truly independent and credible voices in the world of Indian journalism. Doing so is easy. You can help us enormously simply by subscribing to our digital or e-paper editions. We offer several affordable subscription plans for our website, which includes Portfolio, our investment advisory section that offers rich investment advice from our highly qualified, in-house Research Bureau, the only such team in the Indian newspaper industry.

A little help from you can make a huge difference to the cause of quality journalism!

Support Quality Journalism
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor
You have read 1 out of 3 free articles for this week. For full access, please subscribe and get unlimited access to all sections.