Long-distance rail traffic hit in Mumbai

Our Bureau Mumbai | Updated on January 24, 2018 Published on June 20, 2015

A view of water logged railway tracks following a heavy rain in Mumbai on Friday. Photo: PTI

Heavy showers in Mumbai saw the long-distance rail traffic being affected for the second consecutive day. Water-logging has forced the Central Railway to cancel/ short-terminate and reschedule trains.

Services of Nagpur-CST Duranto Express, scheduled to depart on Saturday, besides the Pune-Solapur and Solapur-Pune Intercity express trains have been cancelled.

Also, CST-Hazur Sahib Nanded Tapovan Express, scheduled to leave on June 21, has been cancelled.

Nagpur-Mumbai Sewagram Express has been short-terminated and will return from Lasalgaon near Manmad, while the Devagiri Express to Secunderabad has been short-terminated at Ghoti and will return from Devlali. Vidarbha Express will return to Gondia from Nasik Road.

Meanwhile, Dadar-Tirunelveli Express, which had to leave on Friday, left Dadar at 10.30 am on Saturday. Similarly, Dadar Chennai Egmore Express, schedued to depart on Friday, left Dadar at 12.30 pm on Saturday.

Some of the train timings have been rescheduled. Lokmanya Tilak Terminus (LTT) Gorakhpur Express left at 1055 am, Mandovi Express to Madgaon at 10.15 am, Gitanjali Express to Howrah at 10.15 am and Guwahati Express will leave at 4.40 pm.

Central Railway has rescheduled the timings of two more trains. Mumbai Pune Deccan Express, scheduled to depart at 7 am on Saturday, will now leave at 2.30 pm and Koyna Express to Kolhapur, scheduled to depart at 8.40 am, will now leave at 3.30 pm.

Nine more trains rescheduled

Nine more trains have been rescheduled by Central Railway. They are Mumbai Nagercoil express from 12.10 pm to 4.40 p.m., Howrah Mail via Allahabad to 7.40 pm (journey commenced on June 19, Konark express to Bhubaneshwar from 3.10 p.m. to 6.10 pm., Chennai express from 2 p.m.to 11.30 p.m, Howrah Mail via Alabad (journey commencing on June 20) from 9.30 .m. to 1245 a.m. on June 21, Punjab Mail to 12.40 a.m on June 21, and Gitanjali express to 9.30 p.m.. Konkan Kanya express and RajyaRani express to Sawantwadi will leave from Panvel.

Published on June 20, 2015
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor