Devi Shetty advises students not to worry about gloomy situation

Our Bureau Bengaluru | Updated on March 20, 2020 Published on March 20, 2020

IIM-B holds simple ceremony, confers degrees

As the Indian Institute of Management Bangalore’s (IIM-B) convocation ceremony was postponed due to the restrictions imposed on account of coronavirus, in a low key event, degrees were conferred on 615 students.

The programme announcements were made by Devi Prasad Shetty, Chair, Board of Governors, IIMB, who joined online, with Professor G. Raghuram, Director, IIM-B where degrees were conferred by the Chair, IIMB Board of Governors, to 14 students of the Doctoral Programme, 27 students of the Post Graduate Programme in Public Policy and Management, 70 students of the Post Graduate Programme in Enterprise Management, 75 students of the Executive Post Graduate Programme in Management, and 429 students of the Post Graduate Programme in Management.

Gold medals were awarded to seven students across different programmes. Out of the seven gold medallists, three are women of whom one received two gold medals.

In a simple and safe function, following the conferral, four students of the Doctoral programme (who were present on campus) and the seven gold medal winners were awarded their degrees and medals by G Raghuram, Director, IIM-B in the presence of the Programme Chairs.

Shetty, congratulated the students and wished them luck, advised them not to be worried about the gloomy situation of today, but be excited about a bright tomorrow. “The future you are inheriting from all of us is very tough, but exciting nonetheless. Do make the most of it.”

In PGPPM (Batch 2019-20), Neha Verma has won the gold medal for best academic performance. From PGPEM (Batch 2018-20), the gold medal for first rank went to Siddhartha Garikapati. In EPGP (2019-20), Rachana Kamath has won the gold medal for both first rank as well as for best all round performance.

In PGP (Batch 2018-20), Narayan Sunil received the gold medal for first rank, Subhrangsu Mukherjee and Ankita Shrivastava received it for second rank, and Jinit Pragnesh Dharia for best all round performance.

Published on March 20, 2020

A letter from the Editor

Dear Readers,

The coronavirus crisis has changed the world completely in the last few months. All of us have been locked into our homes, economic activity has come to a near standstill. Everyone has been impacted.

Including your favourite business and financial newspaper. Our printing and distribution chains have been severely disrupted across the country, leaving readers without access to newspapers. Newspaper delivery agents have also been unable to service their customers because of multiple restrictions.

In these difficult times, we, at BusinessLine have been working continuously every day so that you are informed about all the developments – whether on the pandemic, on policy responses, or the impact on the world of business and finance. Our team has been working round the clock to keep track of developments so that you – the reader – gets accurate information and actionable insights so that you can protect your jobs, businesses, finances and investments.

We are trying our best to ensure the newspaper reaches your hands every day. We have also ensured that even if your paper is not delivered, you can access BusinessLine in the e-paper format – just as it appears in print. Our website and apps too, are updated every minute, so that you can access the information you want anywhere, anytime.

But all this comes at a heavy cost. As you are aware, the lockdowns have wiped out almost all our entire revenue stream. Sustaining our quality journalism has become extremely challenging. That we have managed so far is thanks to your support. I thank all our subscribers – print and digital – for your support.

I appeal to all or readers to help us navigate these challenging times and help sustain one of the truly independent and credible voices in the world of Indian journalism. Doing so is easy. You can help us enormously simply by subscribing to our digital or e-paper editions. We offer several affordable subscription plans for our website, which includes Portfolio, our investment advisory section that offers rich investment advice from our highly qualified, in-house Research Bureau, the only such team in the Indian newspaper industry.

A little help from you can make a huge difference to the cause of quality journalism!

Support Quality Journalism
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor
You have read 1 out of 3 free articles for this week. For full access, please subscribe and get unlimited access to all sections.