AIADMK nominees file Rajya Sabha poll papers

PTI Chennai | Updated on July 08, 2019 Published on July 08, 2019

Anbumani Ramadoss

As per a pre-Lok Sabha poll pact with PMK, the AIADMK has allotted one Rajya Sabha seat to it.

The ruling AIADMK’s candidates A Mohammedjan and N Chandrasekaran and its ally, Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) nominee Anbumani Ramadoss, on Monday filed their nominations for the July 18 biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha.

All the three candidates filed their nomination papers with returning officer and secretary, Tamil Nadu Assembly Legislative Assembly Secretariat, K Srinivasan in the presence of Chief Minister K Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and senior ministers.

Mohammedjan was a former minister (2011-13) for backward classes and minorities welfare in the cabinet of former chief minister, late J Jayalalithaa.

Chandrasekaran is a long time party functionary and AIADMK’s Mettur (Salem suburban party district) town party secretary.

As per a pre-Lok Sabha poll pact with PMK, the AIADMK has allotted one Rajya Sabha seat to it.

There are six vacancies to the Upper House from Tamil Nadu and elections are scheduled on July 18 in case of a contest.

Two nominees from the DMK and one belonging to its ally MDMK (Vaiko) have already filed their nominations.

As a precautionary measure, DMK has fielded one more candidate N R Elango -in view of Vaiko being convicted in a sedition case- to ensure its presence in the poll fray in the unlikely event of rejection of the MDMK chief’s nomination when papers are taken up for scrutiny on July 9.

Based on the respective strength of ruling AIADMK and main opposition DMK, the two parties can elect three candidates each.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on July 08, 2019
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor