AP taking all steps to stimulate scientific research, innovation

Ch R S Sarma Visakhapatnam | Updated on January 09, 2018 Published on November 07, 2017

Andhra Pradesh is taking all steps and creating the necessary facilities to stimulate scientific research and innovation to pave the way for the all-round development of the State, the State HRD Minister, G Srinivasa Rao, has said.

He was speaking here on Tuesday after inaugurating the three-day AP Science Congress hosted jointly by AP Akademi of Sciences and Andhra University. The theme for the third edition of the congress is ‘Green technologies for transformation and sustainable development'.

The minister advised students to think out of the box and said the government had set up the AP Innovation Society to encourage the finding of scientific solutions to various problems by youngsters. Stressing the need for promoting green technologies, he said maintaining ecological balance was essential.

He said Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu had already announced an award of Rs 100 crore at the Indian Science Congress held earlier this year at Sri Venkateswara University in Tirupati to anyone who won the Nobel Prize from the State.

The Minister promised to release Rs 4 crore at the rate of Rs 2 crore per annum to AP Akademi of Sciences for spreading scientific culture and research.


Several awards were presented at the congress. Lifetime achievement awards were given to Prof Yerraguntala Venkata Rao (pharmaceutical sciences) and Prof Chilukuri Shantamma (physics).

While Ashutosh Sharma, the Secretary, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, received the Dr. A.V. Rama Rao Award, ICAR Director General Trilochan Mohapatra was honoured with Prof. N.G. Ranga Memorial Award.

Space scientist Prem Shankar Goel was conferred C.V. Raman award.

The congress awarded honorary fellowship to human genetics honorary professor Kuttikupala Surya Rao, CSIR emeritus scientist V. Balaram, professor from Australian National University Chennupati Jagadish, Gitam University pro-vice-chancellor N. Siva Prasad and IIT-Hyderabad Director U.B. Desai.

Published on November 07, 2017
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor