Naveen Patnaik sworn in as Odisha CM for 4th consecutive term

PTI Bhubaneswar | Updated on March 12, 2018 Published on May 21, 2014

Biju Janata Dal President Naveen Patnaik (left) greets Odisha Governor S C Jamir (right) while staking claim to form the next government, at Governor's house in Bhubaneswar.   -  PTI

Naveen Patnaik, who steered BJD to a landslide victory in the Odisha Assembly elections, was today sworn in as Chief Minister for fourth consecutive term.

Patnaik and 21 ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor S C Jamir at the Raj Bhavan.

Those who took oath as Cabinet ministers were Pradip Kumar Amat, Damodar Rout, Debi Prasad Mishra, Pradip Maharathy, Bijayshree Routray, Bikram Keshari Arukh, Usha Devi, Lal Behari Himirika, Jogendra Behera, Badri Narayan Patra and Puspendra Singhdeo.

The remaining ten were ministers of state.

Five members of the previous ministry were dropped, while the new team included eight first time ministers, including Cabinet minister Jogendra Behera.

Those who were dropped were Surya Narayan Patro, Maheswar Mohanty and Niranjan Pujari, who had held Cabinet rank, while Rajanikant Singh and Subrat Tarai were ministers of state.

Those who became ministers for the first time were Pranab Prakash Das, Sudam Marandi, Prafulla Mallick, Snehangini Chhuria, Pradeep Panigrahi, Ashok Panda and Sanjay Das Burma.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on May 21, 2014
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor