Surya Prakash reappointed Prasar Bharati Chairman

Our Bureau New Delhi | Updated on January 09, 2018

The government has appointed A Surya Prakash as the Chairman of Prasar Bharati Board for a second consecutive term till February 2020.

An order issued by the Information & Broadcasting Ministry on Friday said the appointment has been made by the President on the recommendations of a selection committee. It said that the appointment will be effective from the date Prakash will assume charge of the position for a term up to February 8, 2020.

The selection committee that recommended his re-appointment was led by Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu. His first term as the Chairman of Prasar Bharati had ended on October 28.

Prakash, who is a veteran journalist, has held key positions across several print and electronic media organisations. He is also a Distinguished Fellow and Member of the Advisory Council, at the New Delhi-based think thank, Vivekananda International Foundation.

Prasar Bharati, is a statutory autonomous body under the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting, that was set up to oversee the functioning of Doordarshan and All India Radio

In a bid to align itself with modern day broadcasting, Prasar Bharati, which completed 20 years in November, has in recent times been focusing on digitisation. In September, the Prasar Bharati board decided to shutdown the analogue transmitters of DD, a move which was considered to be long-pending.

Published on December 01, 2017

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like