19 Karnataka colleges to get funding under state's incubation network prog

Anil Urs Bengaluru | Updated on January 09, 2018

About 19 engineering and non-engineering colleges across Karnataka have been chosen by the Karnataka government for funding under the New-Age Incubation Network (NAIN) programme under phase I and II.

The state government’s novel initiative, NAIN, was established under the Karnataka Start-up Policy for 2015-20 by the Department of Information Technology, Bio-Technology, Science and Technology. It is aimed at helping the educational institutions nurture an ecosystem for promoting entrepreneurship and innovation in Tier 2 and 3 citites in the state.

“We want our students to develop the entrepreneurial spirit. The NAIN funding is just a small step to encourage innovators to become successful entrepreneurs,” said Karnataka’s IT/BT Minister Priyank Kharge.

The minister said the start-up policy and many other policy initiatives were part of the overall strategy to build a strong, progressive and vibrant Karnataka. The state government aims to include 50 educational institutions under the NAIN programme during the Start-up Policy period of 2015-20, he said.

Under NAIN, Gaurav Gupta said students are encouraged to identify local problems and address them by using the concepts of frugal innovation and develop appropriate technology-based solutions and working prototypes. The mentors assigned to the students are expected to help them evolve a suitable business model based on the chosen new technology with a view to think as entrepreneurs, he said.

The nine engineering colleges selected for NAIN funding in Phase 1 are: JNN College of Engineering (Shivamogga), PDA College of Engineering (Kalaburagi), SDM College of Engineering & Technology, (Dharwad), Siddaganga Institute of Technology (Tumakuru), BLDEA’s VP Dr PGH College of Engineering &Technology (Vijapura), Basaveshwara Engineering College (Bagalakote), NMAM Institute of Technology (Nitte, Udupi), National Institute of Engineering (Mysuru); and KLS Gogte Institute of Technology (Belagavi).

The 10 engineering colleges selected for NAIN funding under Phase 2 are: Sri Jagadguru Chandra Shekaranatha Swamiji institute of Technology (Chikkaballapura), Bapuji Institute of Engineering & Technology (Davangere), Sahyadri College of Engineering and Management (Mangalore), Mangalore Institute of Technology & Engineering (Moodabidri), Ghousia Engineering College (Ramanagara), Govt. First Grade College (Holenarasipura,), Govt. College Autonomous (Mandya), Sri MV Govt. Science College (Bhadravathi), Dharwad College of Agriculture (Vijayapura); and SBRR Mahajana First Grade College (Mysuru).

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on October 31, 2017
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor