Five things to watch out for on January 8

| Updated on January 07, 2019 Published on January 08, 2019

The 10 CTUs that called the strike include INTUC, AITUC, HMS, CITU, AIUTUC, AICCTU, UTUC, TUCC, LPF and SEWA. Representative image

Around 20 crore workers will go on a 2-day nationwide strike from Tuesday to protest against the government’s alleged anti-worker policies and unilateral labour reforms.  Telecom, health, education, coal, steel, electricity, banking, insurance and transport are among the sectors likely to support the strike. The 10 CTUs going on strike include INTUC, AITUC, HMS, CITU, AIUTUC, TUCC, SEWA, AICCTU, LPF and UTUC. RSS affiliate Bharatiya Mazdoor Sangh will not participate.

The Supreme Court is set to pronounce verdict on CBI Director Alok Kumar Verma’s plea against the Centre’s decision to divest him of his powers and sending him on leave. The Centre had taken a decision against Verma and CBI Special Director Rakesh Asthana after their feud had become public as they had made allegations of corruption against each other.

The redrafted Citizenship Amendment Bill is likely to be tabled in Lok Sabha on Tuesday. The Bill, which seeks to provide Indian citizenship to non-Muslims from Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Pakistan,  was cleared by the Union Cabinet on Monday. Large sections of people in northeastern states are opposed to the Bill, saying it will nullify the 1985 Assam Accord under which any foreign national, irrespective of religion, who had entered the State after 1971 should be deported.

Raisina Dialogue, India’s annual flagship conference on geopolitics and geo-economics, will kick off in Delhi today. The theme of this year's meet, which will see high-level participants from all over the world, is 'A World Reorder: New Geometries, Fluid Partnerships, Uncertain Outcomes'.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister will inaugurate the Kurnool airport. Work on the airport, built on 1,000 acres, was completed in 18 months. The first flight will be from Kurnool to Vijayawada and later flights to Hyderabad, Chennai and Bengaluru will be added.

Published on January 08, 2019
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor