62% polling in Manipur till 2 p.m.

PTI Imphal | Updated on March 13, 2018 Published on April 17, 2014

The first phase of the polls was held in the Outer Manipur seat on April 9

Sixty two per cent of the voters out of 8.53 lakh electorate have caste their ballot in the second phase of polling for the Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat till 2 p.m. today, election office sources said.

Polling was brisk at many polling stations in Thoubal district, the home district of Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh, reports from the district said, adding that at a polling station in Thoubal, 82 per cent of the votes were cast by 1.30 p.m.

Reports from other valley districts of Bishenpur, Imphal East and West said 62 per cent polling was cast by 2 p.m.

At Leimaram village in Bishenpur district, people refused to cast votes saying that their village was not developed and not paid attention by the government in early hours but they were persuaded by the authorities to cast votes, reports said, adding they later exercised their franchise.

Manipur has two parliamentary constituencies, Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur.

The first phase poll in Outer Manipur comprising hill districts was held on April 1.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on April 17, 2014
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor