AIADMK MLAs disqualification case: Supreme Court to consider listing DMK’s petition

PTI | | Updated on: Jul 02, 2019
image caption

DMK wants 11 MLAs, who voted against CM Palaniswami, to be disqualified

The DMK on Tuesday moved the Supreme Court seeking an urgent hearing of its plea for disqualification of 11 AIADMK MLAs for voting against Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palanisamy in a 2017 confidence motion.

A bench headed by Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi said that it will consider listing Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s petition seeking disqualification of the MLAs, including Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam. The Madras High Court had in April last year declined a plea by the DMK to disqualify the 11 MLAs.

Panneerselvam and the other 10 MLAs, then in the rebel camp, had voted against the trust vote sought by Palaniswami on February 18, 2017.

Published on July 02, 2019

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like

Recommended for you