President Kovind appoints five new Governors

PTI New Delhi | Updated on September 01, 2019

Tamilisai Soundararajan   -  THE HINDU

BJP leader Tamilisai Soundararajan appointed governor of Telangana

Senior BJP leaders Bhagat Singh Koshyari and Tamilisai Soundararajan were among the five appointed as Governors of various states by President Ramnath Kovind on Sunday.

Koshyari was appointed as Governor of Maharashtra while Tamilisai Soundararajan was appointed as Governor of Telangana.

Former Union minister Arif Mohammed Khan and BJP leader Bandaru Dattatreya were appointed as Governors of Kerala and Himachal Pradesh, respectively, according to an official statement by Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Fifty-eight-year-old Soundararajan, the former Tamil Nadu BJP chief and the party’s national secretary, moves to Raj Bhavan in Telangana.The post was under the dual charge of E S L Narasimhan, who was the Governor of Andhra Pradesh before its bifurcation. He recently demitted office.

Also read: My father, a Congress veteran, will be happy today: Tamilisai Soundararajan

Koshyari replaces Vidya Sagar Rao, whose five-year term came to an end.

Former civil aviation minister Khan takes over as the Governor of Kerala, replacing P Sathasivam, the former chief justice of India whose five-year term came to an end.

Dattatreya has been appointed as the Governor of Himachal Pradesh replacing Kalraj Mishra, who moves to Rajasthan.

The above appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices, added the release.

Published on September 01, 2019

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like