UP appoints new state election commissioner

PTI Lucknow | Updated on November 15, 2017 Published on April 11, 2012

The Uttar Pradesh Government has appointed retired IAS officer, Mr Satish Kumar Agarwal, as the new State Election Commissioner, official sources said today.

A 1974 batch IAS officer, Mr Agarwal was considered close to the SP and had held the post of Principal Secretary of Home and PWD departments in the previous Mulayam Singh Yadav regime.

Mr Agarwal will replace Mr Rajendra Bhaunwal, who retired on April 4.

The officer remained under suspension for over two years and was later given an insignificant posting in the Mayawati regime.

Published on April 11, 2012
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor