Elections 2021

Many close fights in 14 Maharashtra seats

Our Bureau Pune | Updated on April 22, 2019

Eager to voter People queue up to cast their votes at Dhanivari village in Maharashtra’s Palghar district on Monday. There were reports of glitches in EVMs and VVPAT machines deployed in by-elections in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh   -  Arunangsu Roy Chowdhury

The fate of some of the political bigwigs in western and north Maharashtra will be decided in the third phase of polling in Maharashtra as 14 seats go to the polls on Tuesday.

Close contests are on cards in almost all seats as the NCP-Congress alliance is posing a major challenge to the ruling BJP-Sena combine. The ruling alliance faces the daunting task of retaining 9 these 14 seats.

Out of ten seats in the sugar belt of western Maharashtra, eight will go to the polls. Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) President Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule is contesting from Baramati. The NCP had won four out of these eight seats in 2014.

The BJP- Sena combine had dominance in North Maharashtra, Marathwada and Konkan regions in 2014 by winning 9 of the 14 seats. The Congress failed to win any seat here in 2014 while the Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana (SSS) won one seat.

With Tuesday’s polling, voting for 31 seats in Maharashtra will be over. Polling was conducted for 7 and 12 seats in first and second phase respectively. Remaining 17 seats will go to the polls on April 29. The majority of seats going to the polls in the last phase are in Mumbai.

Published on April 22, 2019

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like