Ministry lifts ban on clearing new projects in 8 industrial clusters

Our Bureau New Delhi | Updated on February 16, 2011 Published on February 16, 2011

The Environment Ministry on Tuesday lifted the moratorium on environmental clearance for new projects in eight critically polluted areas including Cuddalore, Navi Mumbai and Ludhiana.

In January last year, the Ministry had imposed a moratorium on environmental clearance for new projects in 43 critically polluted industrial clusters.

This was done to stimulate environmental remediation and mitigation activities by the industry and respective State Governments.

Pollution Board recommendations

Based on the recommendations of the Central Pollution Control Board on the remedial actions taken, the Ministry has decided to lift the moratorium in eight more critically polluted areas.

Other areas include Varanasi-Mirzapur and Agra, Bhavnagar, Dombivali and Aurangabad.

Further, the Ministry said that process of verification of implementation of action plans in another 25 critically polluted areas is under way and it is expected to be completed in the next three-four weeks after which a decision will be taken on the lifting of the moratorium in these areas, it said.

Revised action plans for five critically polluted areas such as Korba (Chhattisgarh), Bhiwadi, Jodhpur and Pali (Rajasthan) and Najafgarh Drain Basin including Anand Parbat, Naraina, Okhla and Wazirpur (Delhi) are still awaited by the CPCB, the Ministry said.

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on February 16, 2011
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor