Variety

Five of the biggest book launches to look forward to this summer

Prashasti Awasthi Mumbai | Updated on May 20, 2020 Published on May 20, 2020

Book reading

Social distancing and prolonged lockdown have made people resort to different hobbies and modes of recreation. This includes book reading. With the postponement of major events and launches that were scheduled for 2020, here is a list of a few biggest book launches that are happening this summer nonetheless:

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins

There's a new Hunger Games book coming out, the first since 2010. It is not only for teens but also for all sci-fi lovers. It's a prequel to the "Hunger Games" series by Suzanne Collins. It is published by Scholastic.

The book was first announced in June last year, and - as revealed in an extract published by Entertainment Weekly - will focus on Coriolanus Snow.

In the original trilogy, Snow is the president of Panem and oversees the annual Hunger Games (and manipulates the Tributes and their loved ones).

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes is set 64 years earlier, during Panem’s Dark Days. There are just a couple of days to go until Suzanne Collins’ The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes hits (digital) shelves.

Hunted by the Sky by Tanaz Bhatena

This book by Tanaz explores identity, class inequality, alongside a high-stakes romance story. Hunted by the Sky is set in the Kingdom of Ambar—a world inspired by medieval India, and a world of deadly, dark secrets and adventures.

A Thousand Cranes for India: Reclaiming Plurality Amid Hatred edited by Pallavi Aiyar

A Thousand Cranes for India: Reclaiming Plurality Amid Hatred is an anthology that comprises 23 pieces of reportage, stories, poems, memoir, and polemic, among others. This book uses the mythology, history, and symbolism of Japanese Origami paper cranes as a pathway for some of India’s best-known writers, poets, and artists to pave a “shared, civic space for a conversation about the fault lines in India at a time of darkness.”

Shameless by Taslima Nasreen

Shameless, the sequel to the controversial and best-selling Lajja, had never been published in Bengali, or any other language, until very recently when a Hindi translation was printed.

This “timely, topical and outspoken novel about communal tensions in India” is, according to its author, “not a political novel–and instead about what the politics of religion does to human beings and their relationships: a ruthless, uncompromising, heartbreaking tale of ordinary people’s lives in our times.”

A Burning by Megha Majumdar

“For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri” (!), Majumdar’s debut, a thriller-like epic, centers around three characters who find their lives crisscrossing in the aftermath of a catastrophe. Of A Burning, Amitav Ghosh has said: it’s “the best debut novel I have come across in a long time… In telling the story of a young Muslim girl whose life is undone by a single social media post, it creates a kaleidoscope of contemporary urban India, with its internet-driven hysteria, religious fanaticism, rampant corruption, poisoned air, random violence, enraged mobs, and pervasive misogyny.”

Published on May 20, 2020

A letter from the Editor


Dear Readers,

The coronavirus crisis has changed the world completely in the last few months. All of us have been locked into our homes, economic activity has come to a near standstill. Everyone has been impacted.

Including your favourite business and financial newspaper. Our printing and distribution chains have been severely disrupted across the country, leaving readers without access to newspapers. Newspaper delivery agents have also been unable to service their customers because of multiple restrictions.

In these difficult times, we, at BusinessLine have been working continuously every day so that you are informed about all the developments – whether on the pandemic, on policy responses, or the impact on the world of business and finance. Our team has been working round the clock to keep track of developments so that you – the reader – gets accurate information and actionable insights so that you can protect your jobs, businesses, finances and investments.

We are trying our best to ensure the newspaper reaches your hands every day. We have also ensured that even if your paper is not delivered, you can access BusinessLine in the e-paper format – just as it appears in print. Our website and apps too, are updated every minute, so that you can access the information you want anywhere, anytime.

But all this comes at a heavy cost. As you are aware, the lockdowns have wiped out almost all our entire revenue stream. Sustaining our quality journalism has become extremely challenging. That we have managed so far is thanks to your support. I thank all our subscribers – print and digital – for your support.

I appeal to all or readers to help us navigate these challenging times and help sustain one of the truly independent and credible voices in the world of Indian journalism. Doing so is easy. You can help us enormously simply by subscribing to our digital or e-paper editions. We offer several affordable subscription plans for our website, which includes Portfolio, our investment advisory section that offers rich investment advice from our highly qualified, in-house Research Bureau, the only such team in the Indian newspaper industry.

A little help from you can make a huge difference to the cause of quality journalism!

Support Quality Journalism
  1. Comments will be moderated by The Hindu Business Line editorial team.
  2. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant cannot be published.
  3. Please write complete sentences. Do not type comments in all capital letters, or in all lower case letters, or using abbreviated text. (example: u cannot substitute for you, d is not 'the', n is not 'and').
  4. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
  5. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.
You have read 1 out of 3 free articles for this week. For full access, please subscribe and get unlimited access to all sections.