Your Financial Plan

Suresh Parthasarathy | Updated on January 11, 2018 Published on May 21, 2017


I am 48. I work in a software company and face the threat of losing my job. My wife is a home-maker. I have a son studying in Class 6. Given my profile I may not get a new job easily and the salary may also not match my current earnings. With my current investments, how can I live comfortably during my lifetime?


In the current situation, you have two options to meet your monthly expenses. First, work till your son completes his education. Alternatively, draw monthly 0.65 per cent or ₹60,000 from your MF portfolio.

In the first instance you will have more freedom after 58 or 60 whereas in the second case you enjoy a better standard of living. But spending on travel and other pursuits is possible only if you liquidate the real estate assets.

Once you get information from the company, close your home loan with your fixed deposits. You have not mentioned your gratuity and other benefits. If you get at least ₹10 lakh, close the loan completely. This will remove the fear of liability.

For your son’s education, save ₹10,300 a month, it should earn 12 per cent return. If the market gives abnormal returns, book profits. This will be helpful to meet your son’s marriage expenses.

By setting up a systematic withdrawal plan you can meet household expenses, EMI commitments and expenses regarding your son’s goals. Buy health insurance immediately for ₹5 lakh.

The writer is a registered investment advisor and founder, Send your queries to

Follow us on Telegram, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Linkedin. You can also download our Android App or IOS App.

Published on May 21, 2017
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor