Vijaya Bank has informed the Bombay Stock Exchange that three shareholder directors have been elected unopposed to the bank's board. Ms Bharati Rao, former deputy managing director of State Bank of India, Mr P. Vaidyanathan, former chairman of City Union Bank, and Mr Nishank Kumar Jain, who was earlier the government-appointment director of Vijaya Bank, will assume office from August 8.

The bank informed the BSE that it received three nominations for election of shareholder directors under Section 9(3)(i) of the Banking Companies (Acquisition & Transfer of Undertakings) Act, 1980, as on July 15, which was the last date for filing nomination.

The nomination committee, after scrutiny of nominations on July 16, declared the following three nominations as valid and elected. Hence there will be no election of shareholder directors during the AGM to be held on July 29, it added.

The tenure of the three existing shareholder directors — Mr Ashok Kumar, Mr Ashok Kumar Shetty and Mr Ananthan — ends on August. 1.

(This article was published on July 19, 2011)
XThese are links to The Hindu Business Line suggested by Outbrain, which may or may not be relevant to the other content on this page. You can read Outbrain's privacy and cookie policy here.