Konkan Railway network to get 10 new stations by Dec 2019

Our Bureau | | Updated on: Oct 16, 2018


Konkan Railway Corporation Ltd is planning to complete the construction of 10 new stations, including two in Karnataka, by December 2019.

It is constructing new railway stations at Indapur, Goregoan Road, Sape Wamane, Kalbani, Kadwai, Verawali, Kharepatan, Achirne, Mirjan and Innanje, and eight loop lines along its network. Of the 10 stations, Mirjan and Innanje are in Karnataka.

According to a Konkan Railway release, it is constructing a railway siding for Mangalore Refinery and Petrochemicals Ltd in Mangaluru to increase the goods loading activity.

Electrification of the entire Konkan Railway route is in progress at an estimated cost ₹1,100 crore, and will be completed by 2020. Work on doubling of the 46-km stretch between Roha and Veer will be completed by December 2019.

The Ministry of Railways has given its approval for raising the authorised equity share capital of Konkan Railway from ₹806.47 crore to ₹4000 crore for the execution of ongoing projects and capacity augmentation of the route, the release said.

Konkan Railway, which had celebrated its 28th foundation day on October 15, has recorded a net profit of ₹126 crore during 2017-18, which is double that of the previous fiscal. The company had recorded a turnover of ₹2,483 crore during 2017-18, up 15 per cent.

Published on October 16, 2018
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

You May Also Like

Recommended for you